Pitbull Got Patriotism Wrong When He Told Critics to Move to Cuba

Jeffrey Kass
3 min readOct 9, 2021

Part of loving one’s country is wanting to redress its wrongs

Pitbull performing in 2019— AB Images/Shutterstock

You’ve seen the news by now. Popular Cuban American rapper Pitbull again went off on people who dared to criticize the United States.

“If you don’t like the United States of America, go back to the countries that we the fuck from, and you’ll see how much you appreciate the United States of America.”

The thing is, when I give my children guidance and constructive criticism as they navigate their teen years, it’s not because I don’t care for them or wish I had different kids. Quite the opposite. I love them so incredibly much that I want them to be the best versions of themselves they can be. That sometimes means letting them make mistakes. That means being there for them when they need me. It’s providing the necessary guidance for their self-improvement. It sometimes means giving them a talking-to so they understand the nature of their errors.

In my home, that’s called deep love.

And I deeply love this young child of a country called America. There’s nothing quite like it in the history of the world. Where innovation, freedom of speech, and the tools to grow are paramount to its heartbeat. Where our founding fathers’ genius, with all of their flaws, gave us a system that…

--

--

Jeffrey Kass

A Medium Top Writer on Racism, Diversity, Education, History and Parenting | Speaker | Award-Winning Author | Latest Book: Black Batwoman V. White Jesus | Dad